Wk-7- Artist Conversation

Artist: Andrea Lauren Williams

Exhibition: Sacrifice. Lots of parallels of faith

Media: Ceramics, Raw Clay, Cement, Mason stain

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Gatov Gallery West

Website: http://mrsdubbayoo.weebly.com/

Instagram: andreawilliammms

About the Artist

Andrea is from Riverside, California. She says that art and music have always been in her family. Her husband helped her choose her major in painting and drawing. In her early life she was in a band and played the drums. She said she misses her band and the shows that they would perform. Her current interests are being a mother, owning a variety of pets such as pigs, dogs and cats. She is currently an undergraduate student at California State University of Long Beach in the school of Art in Ceramics. She is expected to graduate this spring. Her main ideas from her art are religion. With my catholic background I could instantly tell her work was religious.

Formal Analysis

Andrea would inform the crowd that her work was religious but with a slight twist to it. It was interesting to see how her work used some cement like texture. It is interesting because we usually don’t use cement like texture for art but for construction. Most of her work included the cement grey background with a person or two in the art. None of her work is smooth, the reason for that is because she like her fingers to be in the texture of her art. There is a representation in the people but her main focus was the texture used in her pieces. Her pieces are completed in about a week from start to finish.

Content Analysis

The artwork Andrea created was about sacrifice, religion and motherhood. Most of her work included a mother with a child looking up to heaven. The pieces represent the bond between a mother and child no matter what happens. She is showing the sacrifices a women does in giving birth which is her time, body, and life. She even said how being a mother has changed her indefinitely.

Synthesis / My Experience

I actually did not rush into choosing an artist this week. I walked around other galleries to see what artist I would enjoy the most. I chose Andrea because it reminded me about the bond I have with my mother. I saw her work and I thought about how my mother sacrificed so much for me. I have to say that this is the most inspiring work thus far. She reminded me of my mother and the unconditional love I have for her.

 

 

 

 

 

image image image

Leave a Reply

